Connect with us


New Details Of ‘Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga’ Revealed



New Details Of ‘Lego Star Wars_ The Skywalker Saga’ Revealed 2

New details of the upcoming Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga video game has been revealed.

In celebration of Star Wars Day yesterday (May 4th), TT Games and Lucasfilm Games shared new key art of the game featuring characters from all nine of the main Star Wars movies as well as several iconic moments from the series.

The art features leading characters R2-D2, C-3PO, Leia, Han Solo, Chewbacca, Luke Skywalker, Darth Vader, BB-8, Yoda, Obi-Wan Kenobi, Rey, Kylo Ren, and more. Alongside them are AT-ATs, Stormtroopers, and the Death Star.

Also on Star Wars Day, an interview with TT Games’ Head of Production and Strategic Director Jonathan Smith and Lucasfilm Games’ Managing Producer Craig Derrick was released. In the interview, the pair discussed the development of the game and revealed some new tidbits of information.

The interview revealed that the game, which covers all nine films, will allow players to start at any point in the franchise, rather than forcing them to play through the story chronologically. Derrick explained that the freedom allows users to begin with whichever trilogy they like without having to start at the beginning.

New Details Of ‘Lego Star Wars_ The Skywalker Saga’ Revealed Small
New Details Of ‘Lego Star Wars_ The Skywalker Saga’ Revealed Small

Later in the interview, Derrick revealed that the game will feature several hundred characters including heroes and villains. He said: “There are nearly 500 playable characters in this game, with many of them are playable. When choosing characters for a game this large, we just looked at every film in the saga and tried to say ‘yes’ as much as possible.”

Throughout the interview, both Derrick and Smith referenced iconic scenes from the franchise that have made their way into the game. Some of the scenes referenced include the Orbak assault from Episode IX and the throne room scene with Rey and Kylo Ren in Episode VIII. Meanwhile, the key art depicts the battle of Hoth as well as a battle from the prequel films.

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga – Everything We Know

The Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga is set to release later this year for the PS4, Xbox One, PC, and Nintendo Switch. As mentioned, the game will cover all nine films of the franchise and include five missions per film.

It will also include side quests as well as an open-world hub comprised of various planets filled with Star Wars landmarks which players can travel to and explore. Some of the planets and moons confirmed by developers include Naboo, Tatooine, Coruscant, Kashyyyk, Hoth, Endor, Jakku, Starkiller Base, Kamino, and more. Random encounters can randomly occur in the game’s hub and players can choose to retaliate or progress the story instead.

The game’s combat has been altered compared to previous games as lightsaber fights involve combos of light and heavy attacks, and force moves. Characters with blasters, meanwhile, will feature an over-the-shoulder perspective.

No release date has been revealed for Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga but, with it set to drop later this year, an announcement is imminent so watch this space.

[Image credit for all images: TT Games / WB Games]

Fabio writes news and entertainment articles. Ranging from basic news to articles on film, television, gaming, and technology.

Recent Posts

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter to get the latest tech or game scoop right to your inbox.

We do not spam.